Mission Point Press, Traverse City, Mich.
Cart 0
The Masterpieces of Eustace Cockrell, Collected Works, Volume I, 1936-1946 - Roger Coleman

The Masterpieces of Eustace Cockrell, Collected Works, Volume I, 1936-1946 - Roger Coleman


Bookstores and other retailers, please note: This book is available for ordering only through Ingram. Stores should access their Ingram accounts to find this title. Stores that have not yet opened an account with Ingram can do so at this link, then click on "Bookstores."

Ingram welcomes all retailers to open accounts, not just bookstores. So gift shops and other kinds of shops are eligible.

Book description:

Eustace Cockrell was a pioneer writer who, during television’s “Golden Age” of the 1950s, contributed to many award-winning shows including Alfred Hitchcock Presents, Philco Television Playhouse, and Naked City. He also wrote teleplays for many of the early Western classics including Man Without a Gun and Cheyenne.

Prior to his television career, however, Cockrell was a prolific writer of short stories. Over a 25-year period, beginning in 1932, his works appeared regularly in prominent pulp fiction magazines such as Blue Book and Argosy and in “slicks” like Collier’s, The Saturday Evening Post, and Cosmopolitan.

These stories, 114 unique tales, are now republished by Mission Point Press in a five-volume set, The Collected Works of Eustace Cockrell, edited by Roger Coleman, Cockrell’s son-in-law. Coleman, also a writer, is married to Cockrell’s daughter, Elizabeth.

These two volumes are organized to reflect a division within Cockrell’s prolific writings. His early stories (1936-1945) portray the darkness of the Great Depression and the coming of World War II. Here, orphans, ex-cons and soldiers often serve as heroes and sources of inspiration. There are no villains in Cockrell’s works. Everyone gets a second chance.

Cockrell was a gifted writer for whom everyone, even the most hard-hearted and downtrodden, received a second chance. Hope came not from the power of wealth or prestige but from the innocence of children, the integrity of women; and the insights of those often on the fringes of society.

The Masterpieces of Eustace Cockrell further defines Cockrell’s importance as an American writer, whether read in print or watched on the home screen.

Hardcover ISBN-13: ‎978-1958363102
Softcover ISBN-13: 978-1-954786-00-4
8.5 x 11 inches (hardcover)
8.27 x 11.69 inches (softcover)
160 pages
Hardcover retail: $29.95
Softcover retail: $17.50

More from this collection