Mission Point Press, Traverse City, Mich.
Cart 0
Opal Otter Chooses Courage - Peggy Creten

Opal Otter Chooses Courage - Peggy Creten


Prices shown are retail prices. Retailers wanting to buy this book at wholesale should enter in the discount code WHOLESALE at checkout to get a 40% discount.

It all started with a smelly fish sandwich!

A couple of students in the lunchroom at Glen Lake Forest School make fun of Opal Otter as she is enjoying her perch sandwich. The teasing gets worse during the day, and later, on the bus ride home, no one will share a seat with her. Even with the support of her best friend, Opal feels left out and is hurt by the teasing.

But after watching a movie about Rosa Parks, Opal is inspired by Mrs. Parks’s courage in her refusal to sit in the back of the bus. Opal then decides she is not going to be bullied anymore and makes a plan to confront her classmates. With the help of her teacher, she explains what it feels like to be teased and bullied.

Opal Otter Chooses Courage is the second in the Peggy Perch series. This series addresses common concerns that children face in school. It should also inspire discussions between parents, teachers, and children on how to solve problems by sharing feelings. 

The setting for the Peggy Perch books is Glen Lake, Michigan, in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, where the author and her family have spent summers for over sixty years. Her love for the beauty of the area and the Northern Michigan animals are captured in stunning watercolor illustrations.

Publisher : Mission Point Press (June 27, 2023)

ISBN: 9781954786882 (hardcover)

Retail price : $19.95 (hardcover)

Pages: 40

Size: 8.5 x 11 inches

More from this collection